Dilly Mahi Mahi, Zucchini, and Roasted Balsamic Cauliflower

Dilly Mahi Mahi, Zucchini, and Roasted Balsamic Cauliflower :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

Dill… you either love it or you hate it. I used to hate it. So I resolved to try some new dishes and use this interesting little herb. After all, I did plant some in my garden this year.  When the delicate little sprouts started popping through the ground, I wondered what I would do with them. Here’s my first recipe using my fresh dill. Now that I’ve made this, I know it will feature a lot in my dishes. Dill is yummy!

Dilly Mahi Mahi, Zucchini, and Roasted Balsamic Cauliflower :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

I sprayed heavy duty tin foil with olive oil in my Misto, laid down some beautiful Mahi Mahi – any fish would do – that I bought at Sam’s Club (I so wish we had a Costco!), and then brainstormed.

Dilly Mahi Mahi, Zucchini, and Roasted Balsamic Cauliflower :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

Here’s what I added to the fish:

  • Lemon juice and soy sauce (around the bottom and sides – this takes away a bit of the fishy taste in frozen fish.)
  • Mayonnaise (spread on top of the fish)
  • Dill – one good handful (sprinkled on top)
  • 2 medium zucchini

Then, I pulled the sides up and folded it into a packet, sealing everything inside. Make sure you seal it well so that the steam can’t escape. If not, you will be just baking, not steaming. This keeps in a lot of the moisture. Pop it in the oven on 400 degrees F. I did mine along with this delicious roasted  balsamic cauliflower. But put it in at the end; the fish only takes 8-10 minutes per inch of thickness. Mine was a pretty thick piece, and took about 20 minutes.

Dilly Mahi Mahi, Zucchini, and Roasted Balsamic Cauliflower :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

Here’s how I made the cauliflower:

  • Cut/tear cauliflower into bite-size pieces.
  • Toss in a little EVOO.
  • Lay out on a cookie sheet, lined with parchment. (Easy clean up!)
  • Sprinkle with herbs of choice (I use rosemary) and very lightly salt. I use Celtic Sea Salt for flavoring, and table salt for baking – don’t forget, we still need some iodine in our diets; sea salts are iodine-free.
  • Sprinkle with a little balsamic vinegar.
  • Bake at 400 degrees F for about 40 minutes, turning once or twice.

Dilly Mahi Mahi, Zucchini, and Roasted Balsamic Cauliflower :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

TaDaaa! You have a heart-healthy, deliciously moist, and flaky fish dish that your whole family will love. My 4- and 1-year-old loved it and chowed down.

Enjoy!

~Veronica

Leave a Reply

