Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

hcns

Author: Cassie Stevens

Good home cooking! Nothing helps get over a cold better than hot homemade chicken noodle soup. When one person in the family gets sick it usually passes through everyone in the whole family. Somehow, it’s inevitable no matter how careful and clean you keep yourself and other things. It’s even harder if you have little ones.  If you do then you know what I mean. So when I see the first sign of someone being sick I make a great big ol’ pot of soup. Which goes fast cause if you have a sore throat too, a hot brothy soup seems to be the only thing you can swallow.  This soup is sure to hit the spot. Light and tasty and packed with the good stuff your body needs. When paired with my 30 minute Garlic Parmesan rolls this dish is an absolute delight!

SAM_1061

This is one of my favorite soups to make, my other being potato. I make mine in the crock pot.  I start by adding water about half full in the crock pot then start trimming and cubing 6 chicken breasts to add directly to the water. Turn your crock pot to high and cover while you get the rest of the ingredients together. I chopped three to four celery stalks, and used about half a bag of frozen mixed vegetables. I use chicken bullion so I add one tablespoon for every two cups of water in this case I added four Tbsp bullion. I used about half a bag of frozen mixed vegetables I added after a couple of hours (once the chicken was cooked through). I didn’t want the veggies too soggy. I made the Orzo in a separate pot rinsed and drained then added it to the crock pot last. Very few ingredients but very good for your health and well being.  You will want to cook this for a few hours in your crock pot.

So the recipes is as follows: but you can add whatever you like to your soup.  Sometimes I will add stewed tomatoes and even potatoes to make it real hearty and delicious.

Recipe:

6 cubed chicken breast

Water

4-5 Tbsp chicken bullion

half a big bag frozen mixed vegetables

2 Tbsp dried parsley

1 box Orzo

salt pepper to taste

Chopped green onions to top soup

So it’s that easy to have a great homemade soup that will cure anyone if they are feeling sick! After a few hours in the crock pot, the chicken will be so soft and tender.  When you bit into a piece it will fall apart and melt in your mouth, and you’ll be begging for more.  Soon you will have an empty bowl like mine, wishing you had two stomaches or something because you want more, more, more!

SAM_1065

I hope you enjoy this with your family as I did mine. They are sure to love it! Anything made from scratch and from the heart for your family is worth the efforts. It’s much cheaper, and healthier than buying canned soups.

hcns

Leave a Reply

