Homemade Chocolate Syrup

hcs2

Author: Cassie Stevens

Rich and creamy chocolate syrup! If you are like me, you used to buy a lot of chocolate syrup, and that can get expensive. This recipe for chocolate syrup is great for chocolate milk, topping on ice cream, or just about anything else. My daughter love chocolate milk in the morning (I do too).   I think the homemade version tastes so much better than the store bought. I used to buy it for around 3 bucks a bottle, now I would rather buy a container of cocoa powder it makes so much more for the same price. One cup of cocoa powder make about 4 cups chocolate syrup. There is about two and a half cups in a container of cocoa powder, so you get about 10 cups of chocolate syrup for the same price as if you bought a bottle of Hershey’s chocolate syrup. I like that math! Plus, you know what’s in it cause you made it, and it tastes so much better. So I hope you give it a try!  Here is what I did:

1 cup cocoa powder

2 cups sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 cups water

1 tsp vanilla extract  or one bean pod split

That’s it! That’s all the ingredients in it! Simple! I put the cocoa powder and the sugar and the salt in a pan, then mixed it with a whisk. I then added two cups water and set my stove to med heat. You don’t want it to boil cause you will burn the chocolate and have to start all over again. If it comes to a boil quickly remove from heat and turn it down a little, you want it to simmer and slowly release steam.  Cook the water out of it until it thickens up to a syrup consistency. This may take a little while, patients is key. Keep an eye on it and keep stirring it every so often to release the steam. Once it thickens, I added a vanilla bean and let it cool. You can use extract if that’s what you have. I just came across some really cheap beans at a local health food store. once cool place in your container and Viola! Homemade chocolate syrup! You will love it!

hcs

2 thoughts on “Homemade Chocolate Syrup”

Leave a Reply

