Homemade Bit O’ Honey Candies

bohc

Author: Cassie Stevens

Do you remember Bit O’ Honey? The peanut butter and honey lightly crunchy candies. They were good! I don’t even know if they make them anymore. I rarely visit the candy aisle these days. I used to love them!

My husband loves peanut butter so these are gonna go fast.  I start with one jar of creamy peanut butter, and one cup of honey. Put it in a microwaveable bowl and nuke for one minute.  The peanut butter will become liquid I then added 2 teaspoons almond extract and mixed it in.  I then mixed 4 cups dry milk powder. I thought it was too dry so I added another half cup honey and half a jar of chunky peanut butter. Then I microwaved it all one more time for a minute to make sure the peanut butter was melted again and mixed, and it was perfect.  It will look like this:          YUMMY!SAM_0984

The recipe I found online used 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter 1/2 cup honey and 2 cups dry milk powder, but I wanted to make a lot more so I just winged it! I have made them before so I know about how the consistency should look.

So all in all, my recipe is as follows: Makes about 60 wrapped candies

1 jar (18oz) creamy peanut butter

1/2 jar (18oz) chunky peanut butter

1 1/2 cups honey

4 cups dry milk powder

2 teaspoons almond extract

I then put the mix on a parchment lined sheet pan and evenly spread it out with a spatula.  Place it in the freezer for a few minutes to take the heat out and it will firm up a bit. Then cut it up, and wrap it. That easy for great healthy candy or an energy boosting snack.SAM_0985SAM_0987SAM_0988SAM_0989

Cut parchment paper to fit your candies and wrap. If you have kids they will have so much fun with this step. Mine love to help! Easy and fun and simple! Hope you enjoy making them!bohc

2 thoughts on “Homemade Bit O’ Honey Candies”

Comments are closed.