Homemade Whole Wheat or Almond Flour (Gluten-Free) Graham Crackers

Homemade Graham Crackers :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

My daughters are totally hooked on graham crackers. We buy boxes of them. It’s something that seems healthy. I mean, really, what’s the worst that could be in graham crackers? If you want to bury your head in the sand (like I have done for years), I won’t judge you. Look away now, because I’m about to gross you out. I have been feeding my kids sugar AND High Fructose Corn Syrup (ick!), GMO canola oil (ew!)… 120 empty calories of processed junk in just 4 squares. Is this something I want kids eating every day for a snack? NO!  Are you still with me? Good!

Cue healthy, I-know-every-ingredient-in-it, fiber-filled, and delicious graham crackers. And just in time too, for my family at least. Because when kids eat graham crackers, they eat more whole grains and fiber. That sounds good to me. The trick is, they have to be made of whole wheat, and most brand name crackers aren’t.

So what do you say? Are you ready to switch to homemade? They’re easier than cookies. They’re ridiculously addictive. They’re simple and wholesome. Let’s get baking…

Homemade Graham Crackers :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

This is the recipe I sort-of followed. Adding almond meal to this recipe increases the amount of protein in these crackers. Getting protein in my kids is pretty tough. Use only almond meal and this recipe can also be gluten free. Almonds (and, obviously, almond meal) are high in monounsaturated fats; you know, the fats that reduce LDL cholesterol, thus lowering heart disease risk? Almonds are also high in antioxidants, vitamin E, magnesium, and potassium.  Use only wheat flour and this recipe will be high in whole grains. I ended up using a bit of both, experimenting to even out the texture. That makes mine 7 ingredients, but who’s counting? 🙂

Homemade Graham Crackers :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

Because coconut oil is semi-solid at room temperature, I warmed up the liquid ingredients in a saucepan on low for a couple of minutes. It helped to be able to incorporate everything.

Homemade Graham Crackers :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

The dough gets to be the consistency of play dough. I was told this by my oldest. She couldn’t keep her fingers out of it. I let her play in it and squish it while I was getting the parchment and pan and oven set up. Then I puttered about for a little bit so that she could keep playing. 😉 It’s the little things that are important.

Homemade Graham Crackers :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

Roll out the dough. Some other time I think we’ll do cookie cutters with this. I think it could work well and be more interactive and fun for the kids to both make and eat. For now, we made squares with a pizza cutter.

Homemade Graham Crackers :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

I sprinkled them with a little coarse sugar. It adds a tiny bit of extra fun, without tons of sugar. It could be left off and it would be fine. The original recipe called for cinnamon on top. My family isn’t really fond of cinnamon, so we left it off.

Homemade Graham Crackers :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

Baked… don’t you wish it was scratch and sniff? Uh oh, am I showing my child of the 80’s age here? Ahem… 80’s kid, loud and proud! 🙂

Homemade Graham Crackers :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

See? It’s so easy! You’ll feel so much better about slathering on some (homemade?) hazelnut spread, apple butter, organic, fair trade chocolate bar and homemade marshmallows… Okay, this is getting out of hand. I think I just drooled a little.

Or just grab an ice cold glass of almond milk and dunk away. That’s what we did. Nom.

Homemade Graham Crackers :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

Homemade Whole Wheat or Almond Flour (Gluten-Free) Graham Crackers

Whole Wheat or Almond Flour 2 Cups
Salt 1/2 tsp
Baking Powder 1/2 tsp
Baking Soda 1/4 tsp
Coconut Oil 5 Tbl
Milk 1/4 Cups
Honey 5 Tbl

Directions:

Mix dry ingredients. Combine and stir wet ingredients in saucepan, and heat on low until melted. Drizzle wet mixture over dry mixture while stirring. Place dough between two sheets of parchment paper and roll out to the same shape as the sheet pan (as much as possible) and 1/8 of an inch thick. Cut into desired shapes. Move dough and bottom sheet of parchment onto sheet pan. Bake at 350 degrees F for about 18 minutes (more or less, depending on your oven). Enjoy!

Makes about 24 crackers depending on how you slice it.

Nutrition Info* (using all Whole Wheat Flour and 1% Cow’s Mik): Calories: 73, Fat: 3g, Sat. Fat: 2.5g, Cholesterol: 0 mg, Sodium: 73mg, Carbohydrate: 4g, Dietary Fiber: 1.25g, Protein: 1.5g. (Serving size, about one cracker)

Nutritional info* (using all Almond Meal/Flour and 1% Cow’s Milk): Calories: 92, Fat: 8g, Sat. Fat: 3g, Cholesterol: 0 mg, Sodium: 73mg, Carbohydrate: 6g, Dietary Fiber: 1g, Protein: 2g. (Serving size, about one cracker)

*Nutrition data may not be completely accurate as ingredients used and measuring values may change.

Do you read the ingredients lists about your food? Is it easier to just avoid looking at the back of the packaging? No judgement here… been there. Sometimes I wish I could go back to that happy place.

~Veronica

2 thoughts on “Homemade Whole Wheat or Almond Flour (Gluten-Free) Graham Crackers”

    1. I’m pretty sure you can. Since the honey slightly adds liquid to the mix, if your mix is too dry I would suggest adding a little more coconut oil or even a touch more Almond milk to compensate until you have the right consistency. I look forward to hearing how it works out for you, and Thank you for inquiring and being interested in our blog. ~ C

      Like

Leave a Reply

