Rosemary Garlic Parmesean Yeast Rolls

gryr

Author: Cassie Stevens

Light and buttery, you’ll love these! They go great with anything from pasta to seafood.  Fresh rosemary from my patio garden, grated Parmesan, garlic, and butter. Hot from the oven, they are crisp around the edges. and so soft and delicious on the inside. These will be a big hit at the dinner table with your family and friends.

I make a large batch and most I will make plain (for snack-time sandwiches) and the rest I will top (like these above) for dinner. I start with the yeast, the milk/cream mixture, and a little sugar. I will let that sit about 5 to ten minutes until it’s nice and foamy. Like this:

SAM_0937

Then I will mix  in another bowl the eggs, the rest of the sugar, salt, and softened butter. Mix well and add to the yeast and milk mix. Stir until incorporated. Then add 6 cups of flour and mix in well with a wooden spoon, add one more cup of flour and mix in well again. Clean off your wooden spoon, cause you will be using your hands from here. I always knead my dough with my hands. For the last cup or more of flour, I will sprinkle a little on top of the dough and spread the rest out on the counter.  Roll the dough ball out on the your floured surface and begin kneading your dough ball. Keep adding flour down on your counter until your dough has a smooth and soft not sticky consistency. your dough shouldn’t need too much more flour. Place in a greased bowl and let it rise for about an hour in a warm place, like your oven or on top of your dryer if you are doing laundry, or I heard even on top of your refrigerator works great too. So, after your dough has risen and doubled in size, flour your counter, roll out the dough and knead for just a minute to get the big air bubbles out.  Then cut into about thirty even pieces.  Shape into balls. Place on a sheet pan lined with parchment paper.  Brush each roll with a little melted butter and egg mixture.  Then sprinkle on you seasonings, or leave plain. Let rise until doubled again. Then bake at 350 degrees F for about 20 minutes or until golden brown on top.

Here is pan of plain ones I made for sandwiches. They keep well if I store them in a plastic bag once they are cooled.

SAM_0938

OK, so here is my recipe: This was the one I found online

1/2 cup cream

1/2 cup whole milk

1 cup water

5 tsp yeast

2 tsp salt

2 large eggs

1 1/2 sticks butter

2/3 cup white sugar

7-8 cups all-purpose flour

For my Rosemary Garlic Parmesan Topping:

Lightly sprayed tops of rolls with cooking spray, sprinkle on grated Parmesan, garlic powder, onion powder, salt, pepper, 1 chopped sprig fresh rosemary.

POW! you get these ~ awesome herb and cheese crusted yeast rolls.

gryr2

Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

