Classic French Toast from Homemade Bread

cft

Author: Cassie Stevens

Making French toast from homemade bread is so much better than using anything else I think. Thick cut, sweet and so delicious! You’ll think of this breakfast as a dessert, it’s so yummy. I usually make about four slices, so I use about four eggs. I love cream, I always have it on hand. There are so many uses for it when making everything from scratch. I use about 1/4 cup with 1/2 cup whole milk mixed in with my eggs.  Then I add 1 teaspoon cinnamon, a pinch of salt, a teaspoon vanilla extract. Mix, mix, mix. Butter up a hot pan. Quickly dip both sides of the bread in your egg mix and place on the hot pan. Cook for a few minutes, checking it until it’s lightly browned.  Flip and do the same to the other side until done. Plate it up and shake on some powdered sugar and drizzle pure maple syrup on top. It’s dessert for breakfast!

Leave a Reply

