Easy Crock-pot Chili over Fritos with Skillet Cornbread

fc

Author: Cassie Stevens

You gotta love make ahead meals. Especially if you’re a busy Mom. I like to use my crock pot as often as I can. It works wonders with tough meats, plus set it and forget it is what I’m good at. I start this the night before and, I make my own chili seasoning. I find it better suits my family’s tastes. My husband loves spicy food, I do NOT. I will eat it if it is not too spicy. I can handle a little bit of heat but, if it sets my tongue on fire I don’t go back for more. This chili is about as hot as I can handle, and good for my husband too. If he feels like it is not hot enough he will add heat to it with some more Cayenne pepper. He loves Cayenne. Weirdo!  I serve it over Frito’s because I just love the crunch it adds.

Top it off with sour cream and shredded cheese, and I always serve chili with skillet cornbread that I make from scratch.

2 pounds ground beef

1 packet beefy onion soup mix

2 cans chili ready tomatoes

2 can dark red kidney beans

1 can light red kidney bean

1 can tomato sauce

1 cup water

1 Tbsp cayenne pepper

1 Tbsp garlic powder

1 Tbsp onion powder

3 Tbsp Chili powder

1 Tbsp dried parsley

salt and pepper to taste

I brown the meat in a skillet then drain the grease out add the beefy onion soup mix and brown for another ten minutes or so.  Place the meat in a crock pot then add all the rest of the ingredients. Place on low for about 4 hours or so.  If you have a real lean meat then you could place everything in your crock-pot in the morning and tun it on low for the day. When you get home from work dinner is ready.

Leave a Reply

