Coconut Macaroons

cm

Author: Cassie Stevens

I love coconut. I was born and raised in Florida. I spent 24 years enjoying the beach and having fun in the sun. We always picked up coconuts on the beach and pretty much everywhere else around. We had a blast finding inventive new ways to break open a coconut. They were so good. I have since then moved to the mountains and have to buy my coconuts. If you have ever been to a grocery store then you know there a a couple of different kinds of coconuts. The most popular are the green ones then the ones that come from Hawaii, they are brown and very small. I have found that the Hawaiian ones are very bitter. I like the green ones better, or a great time saver is to just buy shredded coconut. I made this recipe one day for my husband who is also a big fan of coconut. It is a simple go to recipe for something sweet and healthy. It’s quick and easy.

2 cups sweetened coconut

1/2 cup sugar

2 egg whites

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

dash of salt

Beat the egg whites, salt, and vanilla until soft peaks form. Gradually add sugar while beating until very stiff and glossy. Fold in coconut, drop by rounded teaspoons about 2 inches apart onto a greased cookie sheet. Bake at 325 degrees F about 20 minutes or until set and light brown. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

