Almond Buttermilk Cake

Author: Veronica Hilliard


Almond Buttermilk Cake :: Pen Pals and Cookin' GalsIf you’ve been following our blog, you know that we’re on a quest to find the perfect thing to do with the almond meal that is left over after making homemade almond milk. We’ve had a few ideas thrown in the mix; and my cousin made some super almond cookies!

Yesterday, I needed a recipe for something to bring to church for an activity. I was in the mood to try something totally new. After searching Pinterest for “Cake”, I found this recipe for a beautiful Almond Buttermilk Cake. I had (nearly) all the ingredients, so I thought I’d give it a try. I was not disappointed!

Almond Buttermilk Cake :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

Butter and sugar creamed together. Yum. This is one thing I have a hard time not stealing a spoonful of. Don’t judge me. I don’t actually do it!

Also, don’t judge my scratched up bowl. I have a toddler who thinks pretending to cook with a metal spoon in my metal bowl is fun. I let her, because sometimes the sound of metal scraping metal is better than the alternative. Those of you without kids yet, don’t say I didn’t warn you! 😉

Almond Buttermilk Cake :: Pen Pals and Cookin' GalsAdd the egg, almond extract, and your lemon zest, or in my case, grapefruit zest. Why do I never have lemons? And a word to the wise; do NOT lick the almond extract spoon. It’s like licking moonshine, but worse. I think I burned my tastebuds. Don’t do it.

Almond Buttermilk Cake :: Pen Pals and Cookin' GalsMix again. This recipe requires you to mix at nearly every step. I used my handy stick blender with the whisk attachment. I love that thing.

Then you add the buttermilk and flour a little at a time while mixing. I don’t use buttermilk often enough, so I keep powdered buttermilk in my fridge. It stays fresh for 2 or 3 years. 4 tablespoons of powder in 1 cup of water makes 1 cup of buttermilk. I just add the powdered buttermilk to the dry ingredients, and I cut the amount of water a couple of tablespoons.

The original recipe called for regular flour. The reason I chose this recipe is because I wanted to see how the almond meal/flour would hold up in it. I used 1 cup of almond flour and it seemed a little more wet than I thought it should be. So I added 3 tablespoons of flour to help bulk it up. I didn’t want it to be a sloppy mess due to the almond flour.

Almond Buttermilk Cake :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals
Before baking…

I added some sliced almonds and coarse sugar to the top before baking. It really brings it to the next level so that you get bits of crunchy sugar and toasted almonds in each bite. Don’t skip this step! It’s really worth it. I didn’t get a picture of the before with almonds and sugar. My hubs came home from work, and I got a bit sidetracked. At this time in my life, talking to another adult trumps my passion for food. Believe it.

Almond Buttermilk Cake :: Pen Pals and Cookin' GalsAnd after baking… 


The verdict? It’s really, really good! Not flaky like a cake – more fudgy, like a brownie. It reminded me of kransekake a little bit. At our church activity we had it with ice cream. That brought it to WOW status. Really tasty. I will be making this one again. I think next time I’ll add a lemony frosting drizzle to make it even more like kransekake.

Recipe for Almond Buttermilk Cake using Almond Meal

Ingredients:

  • ¼ cup butter, softened
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • ½ tsp. almond extract
  • zest of one lemon
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • ½ tsp. baking soda
  • ½ tsp. baking powder
  • 1 cup almond meal or almond flour
  • 3 Tbl. all-purpose flour
  • ½ cup buttermilk (or 2 Tbl. buttermilk powder and 1/2 cup water – or a little less)
  • ¼ cup sliced almonds and coarse sugar to garnish

Alternate garnish: Lemon Icing

  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/2 tsp. lemon juice

Directions:

  1. Cream butter and sugar. Add egg, almond extract, and lemon zest. Mix well.
  2. Add salt, baking soda, and baking powder. Mix.
  3. Mix together almond flour, AP flour, (and buttermilk powder if using it) in a separate bowl. Add dry ingredients and buttermilk (or water) and mix.
  4. Spread evenly in a greased 9-inch round pan. Sprinkle with sugar and sliced almonds before baking.
  5. Bake at 375 degrees F for 20-25 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.

Serves 6

Nutritional Information (per serving, without icing):
Calories: 346, Fat: 20 g, Saturated Fat: 5 g, Sodium: 360 mg, Carbohydrate: 32 g, Protein: 8 g


Are you ready to try something new? Tell me what you think of it!

2 thoughts on “Almond Buttermilk Cake”

  1. You can fake buttermilk by adding either white vinegar or lemon juice to your regular milk and let it sit for about 10 minutes. Works in nut milks too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

