Soft and Fluffy Bread Machine White Bread


Author: Veronica Hilliard

 I used to be daunted by making bread. It seems so difficult if you’ve never made it before. The water has to be warm, but not too hot! Do I use all-purpose or bread flour? How long should I knead it for?

Bread is one of my favorite things to make now that I’ve gotten better at it. And you can do it too! I make this white bread in my bread machine (a cheap Oster from Walmart). I use a bread machine because I have a inquisitive and overly helpful (almost) 4 year old and a climbing 1 year old monkey baby, who so sweetly bug help me. But you can easily modify this recipe to be done by hand if you don’t have a bread machine or children. 🙂 I’m joking. Sometimes I have the time to help my daughter help me. Then we have a blast making memories together.

Soft and Fluffy Bread Machine White Bread :: Pen Pals and Cookin' GalsRecipe modified from this one found on allrecipes.com:

Simple White Bread for Bread Machine

Ingredients:

1 cup warm water (110 degrees F/45 degrees C)

3 Tbl white sugar (or 3 Tbl maple syrup, or 2 Tbl honey)*

1 1/2 tsp salt

3 Tbl olive oil (or oil of choice)

3 cups bread or all-purpose flour**

2 1/4 tsp active dry yeast

Directions: Add the ingredients to the bread machine pan in order, adding the yeast last in a slight well in the flour. Set your machine to a 1 to 1.5 lb loaf, on the white, or basic setting. Cool completely before slicing for best results!

*If you want a substitute for processed sugar, try maple syrup or honey. Maple syrup adds a little manganese and calcium to your bread with a better taste than plain sugar. Honey has trace amino acids, vitamins and minerals that table sugar doesn’t; and it’s easier on your blood sugar. If you are using these liquid alternatives use slightly less water, about a Tsp or two less. 

**Bread flour has a higher gluten content, helping it to rise better than all-purpose. If you don’t mind a slightly less fluffy, chewier bread, all-purpose is fine. I do recommend trying bread flour once or twice though to see how you like it. Bread flour can be found bleached or unbleached, in wheat or white, and also organic.

If you don’t have a bread machine just add your water, sugar, oil, and yeast. Let it sit for about 10 – 15 minutes until the yeast has proofed (gotten foamy). Add the flour and salt and knead until smooth. Set in a greased bowl, covered, until the dough has doubled in size, 1-2 hours – depending on the warmth of your house. Punch down, knead again, and place your loaf into a loaf pan. Cover lightly and let rise to double again, 1-2 hours. Bake at 350 degrees F for 30 to 40 minutes, or until the outside is a light to medium brown, depending on your preference.

Now do you see why I prefer the machine? Ain’t nobody got time for that!

Anyway, I hope ya’ll enjoy it. 🙂 ❤ Tell me what you think if you try it.

Do you prefer a bread done by hand or from a machine? Do you notice a difference?

One thought on “Soft and Fluffy Bread Machine White Bread”

Leave a Reply

