Friday’s Flavor: Teriyaki Chicken

tc

Author: Cassie Stevens

So good!

I always use chop sticks when I eat Asian food. Not a lot of people I know can use them well. I remember when I didn’t  know how to hold them properly. Now, I’m a chop stick master, and it is because I made a rule for myself, if I was going to eat Asian food I had to use chop sticks. So, after a little while I got the hang of it, and have just been getting better ever since.  Rice was the trickiest to pickup and I have often seen Asians shovel it in their mouths from the side of the bowl.  Now, I can pick up a single grain of rice.

When I met my husband he couldn’t hold a chop stick for nothing. So, I told him to follow the rule I have with myself and, he would eventually get it.  He tries, bless his heart.  It’s so funny to watch someone who doesn’t know how to use chop sticks. I just love it!  We have been together for five years (married four), and he still would rather use a fork, but he is a lot better at it now.  I’m glad he tries. He is a good role model for our children.  I can’t wait to teach my them now! Oh what fun!

So anyways, back to the teriyaki. I like to try to make what I can from scratch, mostly because I can’t hide the Jew inside.  Made from scratch is cheaper and makes a lot more for the money, but also because, you know what you are consuming! So in ode to that I give you this recipe:

Hope you Enjoy!

Homemade teriyaki sauce and marinade:

2/3 cup Rice Wine

1 cup Soy Sauce

4 1/2 tsp Rice Vinegar

1 tsp Sesame Oil

1/3 cup White Sugar

7 Cloves Garlic (minced)

1 dash red pepper flakes

Black pepper to taste

Leave a Reply

