30 Minute Rolls

Author: Veronica Hilliard

30 Minute Rolls :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

There is nothing like that first, hot-from-the-oven roll. In all it’s steaming, fluffy, warm, goodness, it is so close to home. When I bake, my oldest daughter waits impatiently in front of the oven waiting for that first, delicious, oven-fresh taste of whatever we’ve just made. It’s one of my goals in my mothering to make sure that my girls have memories of being in the kitchen with me. And tossing a hot roll back in forth from hand to hand as they take the first steaming bites tops my list.

I found this awesome recipe on Pinterest one day. It’s a beautiful and easy recipe that has made excellent rolls every. Single. Time. These are also a great bread to start with if you’re a beginner since they are quick, easy, and relatively fool-proof. You also get fast results so you can see how you’ve done right away.

Start with some hot water, oil, sugar, and yeast. That’s where the magic is…

30 Minute Rolls :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

After 5 minutes…

30 Minute Rolls :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

After 10 minutes…

30 Minute Rolls :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

After 15 minutes…

30 Minute Rolls :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

Add your egg, flour, and salt and mix away.

30 Minute Rolls :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

The dough needs no first rise so you go straight to shaping your rolls. I made a double batch, which made me 24 good-sized rolls. Half of those went to the freezer for later. I had to break them into smaller batches to work easier.

30 Minute Rolls :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

My beautiful rolls, ready to slip into the toasty oven after a 10 minute rise… sexy. 🙂

30 Minute Rolls :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

A short 10 minutes later, gorgeous, soft, melt-in-your-mouth rolls. My poor kid had to wait a few minutes while I got these next few shots. It was really hard for her. I told her my friends in the computer wanted to see how pretty they were. She says, “You’re welcome.”

30 Minute Rolls :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals 30 Minute Rolls :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

Can you smell them now?

30 Minute Rolls :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

You can do no wrong with these 30 minute rolls. yourhomebasedmom.com has also tempted me with this recipe that adds herbs and cheese to the 30 minute recipe. Be still my soul.

Why haven’t I made them yet? I would eat ALL the rolls. Yes, every one, before my family could try one. Therefore, I resist. Plain it is for now. But they are so much more than plain.

30 Minute Rolls :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

Try these yourself and tell me what you think. Oldest Monkey’s first bite of strawberry jam-smeared deliciousness was met with smiles and hugs. “Thanks mom. These are my favorite!” Oh, my little heart… mine too.

What is your favorite kitchen memory?

2 thoughts on “30 Minute Rolls”

Leave a Reply

