Tuesday’s Taste: Chocolate Almond Butter Fail!

Tuesday's Taste: Chocolate Almond Butter Fail! :: Pen Pals and Cookin' GalsAuthor: Veronica Hilliard

Have you ever had this great idea to make something, and then it sort of flops? It’s ok, but not all you’d imagined it to be.

That’s what happened to me today with this chocolate almond butter.

I’ve been thinking a long time about what to do with the almond meal that results from my homemade almond milk. I’ve put it in my oatmeal, in my smoothies, and in some brownies. But I want to do something spectacular with it. This was NOT that case.

Tuesday's Taste: Chocolate Almond Butter Fail! :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

We drink so much almond milk that I have bags of these in my freezer waiting to be utilized. I hate waste so I’ve got to figure out something different to do. It’s a beautiful and nutty “flour” almost. Earlier, I had a niggling thought in the back of my mind, probably my Norwegian Grandma visiting from Heaven, telling me, “Make marzipan or kransekake!” I didn’t listen. Should have. Instead, I thought of my sweet husband who loves his Nutella, and the discussion we had a week ago that ended with me saying, “I’m done buying that crap, it’s full of sugar and PUFA’s!” That’s where I lost him. But he kindly supports me as I slowly clear our shelves of all his favorite snacks. So he begrudgingly promised that he would be ok without it, and I enthusiastically promised that I would find an alternative. Hence my experimenting today. Too bad it flopped.

Tuesday's Taste: Chocolate Almond Butter Fail! :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

Giving the almond meal a quick go-round in the blender made it even softer. I felt pretty good about it at this point.

Tuesday's Taste: Chocolate Almond Butter Fail! :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

I then added coconut oil 1 tablespoon at a time to try to get some moisture back into it. It was pretty ok at this point, but I was beginning to see it wouldn’t work.

Tuesday's Taste: Chocolate Almond Butter Fail! :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

Last step was adding some bittersweet chocolate chips. It looks like it would be tasty, right?

Tuesday's Taste: Chocolate Almond Butter Fail! :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

Yeah, it’s tasty, sort of. It’s more like a dip than a butter. It’s also really grainy. It’s not the smooth, buttery, spread that I’d imagined. I tried to give this plate to my (almost) 4 year old as a snack and she ate everything but the spreaded graham crackers and told me that the spread was gross. I shoved a spoonful of it in hubby’s mouth as he came through the door after work. His reaction? “Uh, what is it?” Yeah… fail. Maybe I can work this into a cookie or my next batch of brownies. Ooh! Maybe I’ll use it as a scrumptious body scrub in the shower tomorrow! 😉

I’m currently soaking some almonds to make more almond milk tomorrow. That means even more almond meal. But I’m also planning to use about a cup of those to try to make a smooth and creamy almond butter. I’ll let you know how it turns out!

Since my recipe failed (sort of), I haven’t left ya’ll hanging…

Try this recipe for Chocolate Almond Butter from Running and Roasting

Or this one for Chocolate Roasted Almond Butter from The Kitchen Paper

Or try this recipe for a Chocolate Coconut Cashew Butter from Averie Cooks

What would you do with it? Can you think of anything to do with this beautiful, fresh almond meal? I welcome ideas!

4 thoughts on “Tuesday’s Taste: Chocolate Almond Butter Fail!”

  1. Make banana bread or some granola. Can you use it for protein somehow in a carb heavy type of meal. Ooh, I know, sprinkle it on spinach and strawberry salad. I think I’m hungry…

    Like

Leave a Reply

