Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream

Ic

Author: Cassie Stevens

When I was seven my father threw me the most memorable birthday party ever.  We had just moved into my what would become my childhood home.  A lot of my family and friends were there to share the day of festivities with me.  I remember my Aunts jumping on the trampoline together, with the biggest smiles on their face. They looked like little kids again for a while. I remember the tree swing my dad made for me had three of us kids on it at once, while we were all trying to swing as high as we could, then jump off together. Ha ha! we had a blast!  I remember my Mom and little sister coming.  I was happiest of all to see my Mom there. My parents separated at an early age, and I was raised by my dad. No regrets!  I still have a great relationship with my Mom and Dad.  They both inspire me differently.

What I remember most was making homemade Vanilla Ice Cream.  My Grandmother gave my dad her old fashioned Ice Cream Maker.  It had a hand crank with a wooden bucket where the ice goes.  It’s still is in the family, although I don’t have it.  I don’t own an Ice Cream maker.  I make my ice cream in a mason jar.  It taste just like that sunny spring day’s birthday party’s.

I put 2 cups light cream in a mason jar.  I then add, 2 teaspoons vanilla extract and, 6 Tablespoons of sugar.  Close it up and shake the jar to mix the sugar in a little.  I put the mason jar inside a gallon slide lock bag. I found a slide lock keeps closed better than a zip-lock baggie.  I fill the gallon bag with Ice and salt, lock it up and wrap a towel around it all. it needs to be shaken for about 30 minutes so gets your family involved too. It’s worth the effort.  When I am by myself, I shake it for as long as I can then let it sit for a few minutes then go back at it again. After thirty minutes or so, I check it by pulling out the mason jar rinsing off the salt from outside of the jar and opening it up. If it still looks soft I’ll close it up and put it back in the bag. Shake again for a while until it has a nice creamy consistency.  It will look like soft serve.  Serve it up like that or put it right into the freezer and let it sit for about an hour, It will harden up.  I like to dish up a little straight away.  A treat for all the effort.  I will soon get an Ice cream maker so it’s not so much work, but it would taste the same either way.  It is an awesome way to make it if you don’t have a machine to do all the work for you. My husband is lactose intolerant but still loves to eat ice cream.  He said my homemade Ice cream is the best, and for some reason easy on his stomach too.  So, try it out for yourself! You’ll love just as much as we all do.

One thought on “Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream”

Leave a Reply

