Baked spaghetti inside braided garlic bread

Author: Cassie StevensSAM_0553

1 recipes for basic white bread

Leftovers from spaghetti night

Mozzarella cheese (grated)

Pepperoni (optional)

Topping: Parmesan cheese, garlic powder, Italian seasoning, Parsley, and salt & pepper.

 

I love Spaghetti with meat sauce, and I like to cook like I’m feeding an army, so there are always leftovers.  This recipe is great for adding a little variety to your leftovers.  It combines two favorites, garlic bread and spaghetti. Around my house we call it spaghetti bread!
Here is how I do it:

I start with a basic white bread recipe. It makes 2 loaves so you can cut the recipe in half if you like but, I like to make a loaf of bread also when I make spaghetti bread.

SAM_0541

After the first rise dough I turn it out on to a floured surface and roll it out, not too thin, I would say about 3/8 inch thick.  I like to make sure I get a nice square out of it.

SAM_0542SAM_0543

Add a layer of cheese then your spaghetti then another layer of cheese and some pepperoni (optional).

SAM_0544 SAM_0545

Cut the dough then braid.

SAM_0547SAM_0550

Egg wash the top of your braided loaf. Sprinkle your topping mix. I then turn my oven on its lowest setting temp (which for my oven it’s 170 degrees) just until it reaches that temp then I shut it off. I then put the spaghetti bread in the oven to proof for about 10 to 15 minutes or so. I just want it to rise a little so the dough is not too thin.  When it has risen to the height I like I turn my oven on 350 degrees and bake it till it’s golden brown. The time will depend on your oven so I always just say to keep an eye on it. I recommend serving it up right away with a side of marinara.  It’s so crispy and delicious.

SAM_0559

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as my family does.  Bon Appetite!

One thought on “Baked spaghetti inside braided garlic bread”

Leave a Reply

