Copycat KC Masterpiece BBQ Sauce

Copycat KC Masterpiece BBQ Sauce :: Pen Pals and Cookin' GalsI’ve become addicted to making things homemade now. It’s truly an addiction. As I’m planning dinner I see an ingredient and think, hmm… I wonder if I can make that? And here’s the thing, I usually can. How have we come to an age where we think there’s no way we can make our own dressings, sauces, and marinades? 

Occupy Easy Food! Lol, just kidding. Kinda. I want real food. I’m crying for real food. Give me things that I can pronounce. Give me comfort food that I can feed my children, without worrying that they will end up with terrible side effects of the very food that has attempted to nourish them all their lives. Let me nourish my family!

So tonight I decided to copycat KC Masterpiece BBQ Sauce. Yeah!

But before we get to that, let me tell you something…

Anniversary Flowers :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

It’s my anniversary. :) Hubs and I have been married for 5 years now. Those are my flowers! Swoon… We had big plans to stay in the theme hotel that we spent our wedding night in. But that is all the way in Idaho, and although my mom lives there and could watch the kids, we’d have to get there… 8 hours’ drive. With two small kids and the traveling we did last week, we nixed that idea.  And because we don’t have a fancy restaurant very nearby (and because littlest girl has bad separation anxiety – no sitter), I made us a fancy dinner. We always joke when we go out for dinner that I could have made it better at home.

This is one of those cases.

When we were in Billings, we went to Texas Roadhouse. I ordered a rack of ribs, my favorite!  They were burnt; and I like a little char on my meat. No, they were near inedible. We said this to the waitress, and she did try to fix it by bringing me a new rack (a little better). Then the manager graciously comped us a half rack. I gotta say though, my ribs are way better. And now… they are AMAZING with homemade BBQ sauce. No HFCS. No preservatives. Take that KC Masterpiece and Roadhouse! :P

Copycat KC Masterpiece BBQ Sauce :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals
Start by sauteing onions and garlic.

Copycat KC Masterpiece BBQ Sauce :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

Add the rest of the ingredients, taste, then give it a good zhjuzz (how the heck do I spell that?) with your hand blender. If you don’t have a hand blender, please, invest in one. I use mine on a daily basis. This is my favorite. I’m waiting for my cheap Walmart one to die so I can justify getting myself an awesome new one. Stainless steel suckah! I’ll take the green one, thanks.

Simmer for a little while so the flavors can marry. Ah, marry. You see what I did there?

Add it to all your favorite BBQ applications. For us, it was a delicious rack of ribs, cooked with my uncle’s finger-lickin’ recipe.

Copycat KC Masterpiece BBQ Sauce :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

Littlest girl enjoyed her anniversary dinner. Thanks for getting married mom and dad! She got to chew all the bits of meat off our bones. She happily scraped each one clean. Not hard since the meat falls right off the bone. We handed her a few half-eaten ones to make sure she got to have some of the good stuff too.

Copycat KC Masterpiece BBQ Sauce :: Pen Pals and Cookin' Gals

I paired these with a side of garlic green beans (simmered for a few hours on the stove with a few cloves of smashed garlic), and basil roasted red-skin potatoes. Mmm! Want the recipe?

Masterpiece BBQ Sauce (from scratch)

1 Tbl oil (olive)

2 cloves garlic diced

½ onion diced

3 Tbl white or apple cider vinegar

1 Tbl worcestershire

1 Cup ketchup

1/3 Cup salsa (one recipe I saw called for 4 Tbl minced chipotle peppers in adobo sauce. I think that this would make a more spicy, warmer sauce. As I didn’t have this on hand, I used salsa, but I don’t think it added much to the recipe as it was mild. Next time I will plan ahead and try the chipotle!)

1/3 Cup brown sugar

1/3 Cup molasses

1/3 Cup honey*

1/8 tsp paprika

Heat the oil, then saute the onions and garlic for about 5 minutes or until softened. Add the rest of the ingredients and stir well to combine. Simmer for another 10-15 minutes. Blend to a smooth consistency (be careful with hot liquids in the blender!).

*This is a sweet BBQ sauce (like KC Masterpiece). You can make it less sweet by leaving out the honey, increasing the amount of vinegar (1 T at a time), add heat by adding chili peppers or red pepper flakes. Make it your own. It’s a pretty forgiving sauce, so play with it!

For the ribs: Cut a rack into even pieces, about 2 bones per piece. Boil in water until the meat is almost falling off the bone (about 3-4 hours on the stove top). I cook mine in my crock pot on high, my 6 hour setting. Remove the pieces, being careful not to let them fall apart, to a sheet pan. Here they will dry out a bit (about 5 minutes) so that the sauce will stick. Brush the sauce on all over. Heat the grill. Add the ribs and cook on both sides just to add some grill marks and grill flavor, about 3-5 minutes on each side, depending on your grill temp. Remove, and add more sauce if you like. Enjoy!

I didn’t figure up the cost of the sauce, but I can bet it’s cheaper than store-bought. It makes a ton. I’m freezing the rest of mine. I’ll tell you how it comes out. But the ribs? Those cost $0.50 per rib. That’s $2.00 per serving, as we like to have about 4 ribs per person. Try to get that at a restaurant! Mama win!

Please let me know what you think. This is a well-loved dinner here. I’m sure your family will love it too!

~Veronica Hilliard

This entry was posted in Dinners, Friday's Flavor, Sauces and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

