My Incredible “mistake” Iced Brownies

cib

Author: Cassie Stevens

I have been trying to make homemade chocolate from cocoa powder for about a week now. I have failed multiple times. It’s always something too much butter or not enough cocoa powder, it separated on me a few times because I got water into the mix somehow.  I have tried several ways to make it and still have failed at the perfect mixture of cocoa powder and fat (cocoa butter, shortening, butter, or whatever you use), and powdered sugar. I have watched every video tutorial there is on the Internet.  I have researched how to temper chocolate and tried just about every recipe there is out there and I still have not achieved the perfect chocolate bar. I’m really close I can feel it I just have to work on my ratios to get that hard semi-sweet chocolate bar I want from cocoa powder.  So I have about 2 pounds of soft chocolate mistakes I wasn’t sure what to do with. I have a problem with waste. Waste not want not. So I decided to make iced brownies with all that chocolate I couldn’t make a hard chocolate bar out of. So I warmed up the chocolate mixture until it was liquid again and mixed in 3 cups Flour, 2 eggs, 1/2 cup sugar, 1 tsp vanilla extract, 3 tsp baking powder, 2 tsp baking soda, enough milk to loosen up batter about a half a cup. I didn’t want the batter too thin. Then I poured it all into a great big sheet pan and baked it at 350 until a toothpick came out clean it was about 15 to 20 minutes.  I let them cool about 20 minutes while I shooed away my husband from eating them, I made the chocolate Icing

Chocolate Icing:

2 cup powdered sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 cup cocoa powder

about a 1/4 cup cream- I don’t measure I usually mix this in a little at a time until it comes out to the consistency that I really like. By this time the brownies have cooled and I managed to keep the brownies safe until they were ready. You can top your brownies with whatever you like. I added almonds on top.  So as you can see they look great but they tasted even better.  They were quite a hit here with everyone.

SAM_0890

So, I manged to make something awesome from my multiple failed attempts to make a chocolate bar from cocoa powder.

4 thoughts on “My Incredible “mistake” Iced Brownies”

    1. I had about two pounds of “mistake” soft chocolate that I added flour eggs sugar vanilla and baking soda and baking powder and a little milk to. I understand it is going to be very hard to duplicate my “mistake” chocolate but if I had to I would say I used about two average size bags of chocolate chip morsels. You could probably use white chocolate in this and make blondies. I bet that would be great too! I hope that helped….Happy Baking!

      Like

Leave a comment